A Sign from God

It is hard for me to take a day off, so yesterday I made myself take the afternoon off. What can I say, I like to work.

I went to the lake. Yes… the lake. A little cold to be going out there but it was just what I needed. I went to an old spot that we used to hunt when I was a kid. It had been years since I had been back. On the drive out there I could remember when I was 15, driving the same highway on the way to the same spot. All I wanted was a single cab pick up truck, shotgun and a dog. That was it. Sounds pretty redneck huh? I am from Garland, it is what we do.

I went for a walk down a path by the lake and prayed for Concept Church, friends, family, and when I came back to my truck I noticed I had a single cab pick up truck. I own a shotgun, and I have had a dog. It was one of those moments you can’t really put into words. Clearly hearing the Lord speak to me, “I have never left you, and I will never leave you.” The presence of God was so thick, I just broke down. The rest of the time in prayer was just spent thanking Him for His faithfulness.

As I was leaving the lake there was a sign at the corner of the farm road, out in the middle of nowhere. Thanks to the greatness of the iPhone I can share it, here it is:

A ‘sign’ from God in the middle of Nowhere, TX to keep going with PRAY on Thursday nights. It was such a blessing to hear from the Lord so clearly. And a reminder that breaking away to pray and rest in God is crucial. Jesus did it, and so should we. He is always faithful but it takes changing our pace, posture, and position to hear from Him so He can reveal His hand in our lives.

I went back to the passage where Moses commissioned Joshua to take over in his place, and I will leave you with that passage. A Word from God, for those in Christ:

Deuteronomy 31: 7-8

Then Moses summoned Joshua and said to him in the presence of all Israel, “Be strong and courageous, for you must go with this people into the land that the LORD swore to their forefathers to give them, and you must divide it among them as their inheritance. The LORD himself goes before you and will be with you; he will never leave you nor forsake you. Do not be afraid; do not be discouraged.”


About this entry