Chaos to Order // Part 1

After my last meeting in California I had an hour to kill before I needed to be at the airport before my flight. I had two options, sit at the airport or enjoy the weather and drive down PCH for a little while.

It was a no brainer.

I had the windows down and it was a beautiful day in Southern California. Every thing in me wanted to floor the gas of the rental car but the speed limit was 50…. so I went about 60.

There was such freedom in that drive. Where the Spirit of the Lord is there is freedom. And then the Lord spoke to me about His order. Similar to the antinomy of predestination and free will, both freedom and order exist together in perfect harmony.

An antinomy is a contradiction of two valid conclusions. Here is an example. A train runs on two tracks, as you look down the horizon you will see that they come together in the distance, but from your perspective they are two different tracks. It is not one or the other, it is both. This is a reoccurring theme in the Bible. There is absolute truth, but theologically we are left with some questions because we are not God. He does this to reveal the limits of our understanding. We are always left with the central truth that Jesus is God, and the way to Him.

Our God is a God of order.

There is baggage in this statement for some, so I want to unpack it a bit. Understanding the qualities of God leads to understanding His ways. He has revealed His qualities in the Bible.

He is our Creator. If I was to paint a painting, or write a song, that song or painting is mine. I wrote it and gave it the shape, color, and direction I wanted to give it. The same applies to each of us. Our body and the world we live in is a fine tuned machine of working order. Evident in science and math, we walk through a world of working order everyday. One that God created and designed. Science doesn’t explain away God, it reveals the fabric of His creation.

He is also our Judge and as does any judge, He demands ‘order’ in His court. You not only enter His courts with thanksgiving and praise, you enter with order. He is our Father and disciplines us when we disobey. This is for our protection because He loves us. He disciplines those He loves. And lavishes us with gifts, because He is a lover.

When I was driving down PCH I had great freedom. I could go pretty much anywhere I wanted. I had a license to drive a car, a super sweet Kia Optima and a full tank of gas. What a blessing.

But, I still had to obey the laws. There is a speed limit, and you can only drive on the right side of the road. There are stop signs, and stop lights. All of these keep the flow of traffic orderly and prevent chaos. Freedom has flow, but it is not chaos.

What if I said, “The hell with this! I am going to do what I want. I don’t want to stop at red lights, I want to drive 120, and I will drive against traffic on the left side of the road!” Well, it is safe to say it would not be long before I either caused an accident or was arrested. Something tells me a night in the L.A. county jail would be a long night.

The same applies to walking with the Lord. The Law is not only there as evidence that we are flawed, but it is also there for our protection. That is why Jesus said that it is easier for the Heaven and earth to pass away before the Law. Reason being, the Word (who is Jesus) breathed life into being and the Law is the framework of the structure.

Although we and the world are broken, and Jesus is our saving way out, the Law is still there and in tact. So what do we do with it?

Jesus fulfilled the law, He did not do away with it. Now, because of the Holy Spirit and Christ in us we have the freedom to obey it. We are no longer slaves to sin, but slaves to righteousness.

In other words the Law is not broken, we are. So our completion in Christ allows us to walk with Him. The Holy Spirit is our counselor, leading us in righteousness for His name sake. By His grace we are saved through faith, and by walking in Him we look more like Him. As we resemble Christ, we resemble more the qualities of God and guess what… naturally follow the beneficial order He has designed. For our benefit, becoming more like our Father saves us from the destruction of not following His Word. This is applicable on a macro AND micro level. That means your ultimate salvation is in tact, but every day decisions are subject to the Law.

After you became a Christian the wages of sin is still death. Although you were saved for eternity (macro) you will reap what you sow daily (micro). Cheat on your taxes you may not go to hell, but you may be thrown in jail. The law of the wage of sin still remains.

Grace sometimes is viewed backwardly. It is not the ability to now get away with sin, it is the power to say yes to God. Grace in a mature believer becomes something we spend, not just receive. Sure we are all imperfect and use our fair share, but grace becomes something you steward and give away, not just take and use recklessly.

Don’t be fooled, God can not be mocked. You serve somebody, either sin or God. But in Christ we have the power to say no to sin and yes to God. This is repentance. And in the end, it is His loving kindness that leads us to repentance.

His love and grace is irresistible to those He has called.



About this entry