When I Stole the Glory of God

I stole the praise of God.

The Lord has put it on my heart to confess what He has convicted me of, and to repent of it publicly.

I was a worship leader, and I stole the praise of God. He took me out and disciplined me, to teach me this, so I can share with you. I was not worshipping in spirit and truth.

See, every time I got down off stage and someone complimented me or praised me for leading worship I didn’t deflect it all… I received some of it. It wasn’t a conscious decision, but subconsciously I was diverting what was supposed to all go to God. I praised God, but kept a little for myself. I did not give Him all the glory.

I stole His praise.

It is never a conscious decision, it happens gradually over time. You are humble at first, all about worshiping the Creator, then the more success you have at something the more you forget who gave you the life, breath, and skill to accomplish the task. Deep down you can sense the sin emerging, but you cover it with false humility and enough Christian jargon to down play your attempts to come clean.

The Lord has spoken very clearly to me.

“Repent of accepting the praise of men. Do not ever praise men. Do not allow yourself to be praised as a worship leader or pastor. Never praise any man, especially a worship leader or pastor.”

If you are a member of a church and you elevate or praise your pastor or worship leader, stop. If you are a pastor or worship leader accepting the praise of men and women, stop. No matter how awkward it is for you and your congregation repent of your sin. Confess it and turn from it.

On the face of the earth there is no more serious matter than this.

If there are idols in the temple, they must be removed. Even if those idols are human beings.

As in the days of Hezekiah, it is a time to purify the temple. Our living bodies, which are temples for the Holy Spirit, and the places in worship where we assemble. (2 Chronicles 29)

Isaiah chapters 1, 2, 3, and 4 are of increasing significance to our generation. And it leads me once again to my knees praying, “Search me, O God, and know my heart; test me and know my anxious thoughts. See if there is any offensive way in me, and lead me in the way everlasting.” (Psalm 139:23-24)

Yes, God loves us.

But God is still God, and God is Holy.

It is all about His glory.


About this entry