19 Days

I get married in 19 days.

On December 4th I get to stand up with my brothers and friends and wait for those doors to open to the most beautiful woman in the world. She will be dressed in white, beautiful and glowing. I have prayed for her for many years. Almost settled several times, but the Lord kept pushing me to wait.

“Don’t listen to what they say, Matt. Don’t settle. She is out there! Wait and be patient. Wait on me!”

Then there she was.

I have not been perfect in the waiting. Dated when I knew I shouldn’t have because of loneliness. Listened to the voices of the skeptics and critics. I have made many mistakes. But there is grace, and the greatest failure is to give up and not take the grace to keep going. To not wait for the good that God has waiting for you. God can redeem anything, but it pays to wait for the Lord. I feared following the Lord and speaking up for the truth He had on my heart, that it would keep me from the woman I had dreamed about. Then the Lord placed the dream in front of me, and she was better than I prayed for.

Wait for the Lord!

Do not give up, do not give in!

Don’t settle for sex, wait for love!

Love is more powerful than lust.

What do you do when you meet the one you have been praying for your whole adult life? YOU MARRY HER! And you sweep her off her feet and marry her quickly. At least that is my conviction.

And that is what I pray. For the Lord to come quickly and come sweep His Church away. We are waiting for you Lord. Come quickly! Yes true love exists, and it is worth waiting for.

I get married in 19 days.

Who says miracles don’t happen?


About this entry