Bones on Fire

The months after winding down Concept Church have haunted me like a ghost. A Holy one.

My soul wrestles with the Lord. A part of me wants to dust off my sandals and move on from the city. It is wicked, and perverse. It has completely rejected the Lord. All, but the remnant that still follow the Lord. And as we see in the passage about Lot, the Lord was willing to spare the city if just a few righteous were in it (Gen 19). But to the destruction of Sodom, there were none. With the exception of Lot’s family, it was completely wicked.

My wife and I live in the Design District of Dallas. I moved here from Plano, a quiet upper class suburb of Dallas. If you don’t live in Dallas the Design District is on the edge of what is known as the homosexual community. My last trip to the Walgreens (on the corner of Cedar Springs and Oak Lawn) was at night a couple weeks ago because Hannah was sick. There were male prostitutes on the corner pulling tricks. I walk in to see an older woman cracked out of her mind, flinging her body around like Johnny Depp in Fear and Loathing in Las Vegas. She was trying to steal lipstick.

Paying the cashier I had a flashback of the past year of ministry. The constant rejection of those whom we felt the Lord sent us to reach. I prayed to the Lord, “At what point do you give people over? At what point do we leave the city?”

An interesting point in the story of Sodom and Gomorrah. The Lord did not destroy it until the righteous left the city. In the Bible the righteous are referred to as ‘salt’. Jesus makes this analogy in Matthew 5. Salt makes food taste good, but most importantly it is a preservative. Lot and his family were that salt. They preserved Sodom and Gomorrah until they left, then God turned it into…. a pillar of salt.

The reality is that depravity is God giving those who have chosen to reject Him over to the desires of their flesh. There is a point where a person rejects the Lord and He gives them what they want.

But still there are the righteous in the city. Many churches with a remnant of people pursuing and pressing into Jesus for a movement. One last movement before He pulls the righteous for the judgment of the world.

Just down the street is 2727 Oak Lawn. A center in the city that houses prayer, worship, ministry and evangelism efforts. There are other churches still meeting, still pressing in, still fighting the darkness with the love of Jesus.

The months after the closing of Concept as a local church I have prayed earnestly for the Lord to test me and reveal my heart. There are many things He has revealed. The heart of man is wicked, even those redeemed. We have not reached our glorified state and in the process of sanctification He is revealing the power of the blood of Jesus through a revelation of the work He continues in us. The Word is a mirror into the deep recesses that we don’t see. (Psalm 19:12)

But also, I have been challenged by the Lord to reach the culture. Where can we engage culture? Where does the presence of God leave the meetings of the elect and flood the streets of the sinner? At what point do they encounter the move of God on their turf, in their very community, their neighborhood.

Do they come to us?

Do we tell them to come and see?

What would Jesus do?

I think it is very clear. Jesus did a lot of walking. You go to them. Jesus left His rightful place to come to this world to reach the ‘lost sheep’. Outside our place of comfort is the opportunity to see God move in our area of weakness. God is glorified when we place all our trust in Him and not in our own efforts. Not in our own gifts. Not in our own will.

Will this city stand? I believe there is not much time before God removes the ‘salt’ and brings His judgment. It could be as soon as this very year.

A couple weeks ago I bumped into an old friend and worship leader. He shared with me where he was in his journey and he said, “There is a fire in my bones, I can’t give up. Jesus is all I have, and He is worth it all.”

He summed it up pretty good.

As the prophet Jeremiah said…

But if I say, “I will not mention His word or speak anymore in His name, His word is in my heart like a fire, a fire shut up in my bones. I am weary of holding it in; indeed, I cannot.” – Jeremiah 20:9


About this entry