A Joyous Mission

I follow the Vickery Meadow Ministry and Kyle Jenkins sent this message out yesterday. Amazing message and felt led to share. Here it is:

Last Friday I was at the mosque and after we ended the group prayers, I felt like God told me to stay and just wait. Usually at this moment, I am waiting for Him to tell me who to go meet or talk to. But again, I felt like He just said wait, so I stayed kneeling before God. Then, they brought up a man and they had an announcement. This man was professing his new faith in Islam. They had him repeat words, etc…Anyways, as I was listening, my heart sank.

My heart so hurt for this man. My heart so hurt for the people who needed to hear the gospel in this world. My heart so hurt for the people of Christ who do not know their purpose in life…which is to go and tell people about Jesus. On top of this, I had this feeling that he was a “Christian,” which I later found out was true. How did he lose his way? Did he ever know the true Jesus? Did anyone ever tell him about the true Jesus? Do I need to tell him?

I believe God let me witness this. It broke my heart, but it gave me a new urgency. I also felt led to write about it so that it might challenge you. Below is what God challenged me on. I felt like there are two questions that He wants to ask us all:

1. Do we care about the one? Just one person that is living apart from Jesus for eternity. Or maybe, we only care about the big numbers or revival. Believe me, I am all about revival, so I am talking to myself!!! I feel like God was challenging me on this.

2. Do we really care about the lost and is our life really reflecting it? Do we wake up everyday with a purpose to love Jesus and tell people about Him? Do we pray for the lost? Do you know your purpose here on earth and does it reflect loving Jesus and reaching the lost?

Because when you read the scriptures, there is no doubt what our purpose should be. And this mission that He gives us is a JOYOUS MISSION!!! If you have this idea in your head that telling people about Jesus is a burden, then you have missed it! He knows what is best for us. He knows what will give you joy. Loving Him and telling people about Him is what will give you joy. A life surrendered to Him! If you have missed it, don’t condemn yourself. Just ask for God to give you the right perspective.

How will they hear if we do not go? Truly this is the case in most places we go. If we do not show up in the mosque, the brothels, the strip clubs, the drug houses, our own work places…etc…you name it, then they will not hear. Every place needs a witness and I believe that every place can easily have a witness, if we all go!!! That is my vision I am holding on to.

ROMANS 10:13-15 for, “Everyone who calls on the name of the Lord will be saved.” How, then, can they call on the one they have not believed in? And how can they believe in the one of whom they have not heard? And how can they hear without someone preaching to them? And how can anyone preach unless they are sent? As it is written, “How beautiful are the feet of those who bring good news!”


About this entry